Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

CNM scientist receives presidential award for advancement of science

Yugang Sun receives a PECASE award

Yugang Sun (left) with Dr. Altaf Carim, DOE program manager for the five
Nanoscale Science Research Centers, during the December 19, 2008, PECASE
award ceremony at DOE headquarters

Assistant chemist Yugang Sun received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) to recognize his contribution to the advancement of science. Dr. Sun, a member of the Nanophotonics Group in Argonne's Center for Nanoscale Materials, was recognized for developing ground-breaking techniques for chemical synthesis and nanofabrication of metal and semiconductor nanomaterials, as well as for community educational activities. The Presidential Awards are intended to recognize and nurture some of the finest scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the 21st century. The Presidential Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent careers.

Dr. Sun has published more than 80 peer-reviewed articles in high-profile journals including Science, Nature Nanotechnology, Nano Letters Advanced Materials, and the Journal of American Chemical Society. The total number of citations to his work is more than 7,400, and he has 16 papers that have been cited individually more than 100 times. He has delivered more than 20 invited presentations at major international conferences and universities.

December 2008

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory