Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

Award-Winning Image

Hybrid Organic Copolymer
Click for larger view

Muruganathan Ramanathan and Seth Darling of the Electronic & Magnetic Materials & Devices Group have won the Best Photon Micrograph award at the 54th International Conference on Electron, Ion, and Photon Beam Technology & Nanofabrication, held in Anchorage, Alaska, in June 2010.

The image is a bright field optical micrograph of a poly(styrene-block-ferrocenyldimethylsilane) (PS-b-PFS) block copolymer thin film. The polymer was spin coated on a thin TEM membrane and subjected to hybrid thermal/solvent annealing. This artistic structure appears because of the selective dewetting of the polymer from the thin TEM window (seen in the middle), which oscillates during the process of spin coating.

The micrographs selected this year will be on display at next year's conference.

A total of 88 entries were submitted to the contest, which covered work in a wide range of fields including micromechanical, photonic, and integrated circuit fabrication, chemical and dry etching, carbon nanotube structures, carbon nanotube growth experiments, biological samples, material science experiments and, e-beam, ion beam, and photolithography experiments.

The panel of judges who selected the award winners was:

  • Don Tennant (Cornell University)
  • Edgar Mitchell (Apollo 14 Astronaut)
  • Cindy Hanson (Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command)

June 2010

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory