Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

Volker Rose Receives 2012 DOE Early Career Research Program Award

Volker Rose
Volker Rose with the prototype high-resolution microscope at the APS/CNM nanoprobe beamline on APS Sector 26.

Volker Rose, assistant physicist with the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science's Advanced Photon Source X-Ray Science Division (XSD) and the Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) at Argonne National Laboratory, is one of four Argonne researchers who have received 2012 Early Career Research Program awards, granted by DOE to exceptional researchers beginning their careers.

"Argonne is extremely proud that four of our young researchers have been chosen for this important award," said Eric D. Isaacs, Argonne Director. "These young scientists and engineers will play a vital role in our nation's future, helping to assure that invention and innovation continue to fuel America's global competitiveness in the years to come."

Rose's award will allow him to develop a novel high-resolution microscopy technique for imaging nanoscale materials with chemical, electronic, and magnetic contrast. The technique will combine subnanometer spatial resolution of scanning probe microscopy with the chemical, electronic, and magnetic sensitivity of synchrotron radiation. Drawing upon experience from a simple prototype that demonstrates general feasibility, the development will drastically increase the spatial resolution of current state-of-the-art X-ray microscopy from only tens of nanometers down to atomic resolution. This technique will enable fundamentally new methods of characterization, which will be applied to the study of energy materials, nanoscale magnetic systems, and site-specific heterogeneous catalysis. A better understanding of these phenomena at the nanoscale has great potential to improve the conversion efficiency of quantum energy devices, lead to advances in future data storage applications, and yield more efficient catalytic reactions.

Rose holds an advanced degree in physics and received a doctoral degree from RWTH Aachen, Germany, in 2005. During this time, he conducted research at Research Center Julich, the largest interdisciplinary research center in Europe. After a postdoctoral appointment at the CNM, he joined the XSD Microscopy Group as an assistant physicist in 2007. He currently holds an interdivisional appointment between the APS and the CNM. Dr. Rose's earlier research achievements include an International Student Exchange Program Award, sponsored by DOE and the American Nuclear Society in 2004, as well as a prestigious R&D 100 award in 2009.

In addition to Rose, the other three Argonne winners are Pavan Balaji (computer scientist, Mathematics & Computer Science); Victor Zavala (assistant computational mathematician, Mathematics & Computer Science); and Richard Wilson (assistant chemist, Chemical Sciences & Engineering).

The four are among 68 selectees announced by DOE's Office of Science and were chosen on the basis of peer review from among about 850 nominations submitted last November. The selectees for 2012 are from 47 different institutions in 25 states.

The five-year awards are designed to bolster the nation's scientific workforce by providing support to outstanding researchers during the crucial early years of their careers, when many scientists do their most formative work. The awards also aim to provide incentives for scientists to focus on mission research areas that are a high priority for the DOE and the nation.


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory