Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

Theory and Modeling Staff

To read a PDF biography, click name. To send a message, click on e-mail address.

Stephen Gray, Group Leader
Phone: 630.252.3594, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: gray@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
  • Research activities include the theory and modeling of dynamical processes in nanosystems with particular emphasis on modeling light interactions with metallic nanostructures via rigorous electrodynamics simulations and the quantum dynamics of molecular systems within nanoscale environments.

Maria Chan, Assistant Scientist
Phone: 630.252.4811, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: mchan@anl.gov

  • PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Research focus is density functional theory modeling of renewable energy materials, including photovoltaics, energy storage, and thermoelectrics, and development of first principles and machine learning methodologies for materials property prediction.

Larry Curtiss, Argonne Distinguished Fellow
Phone: 630.252.7380, Fax: 630.252.9555, E-mail:curtiss@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University
  • Research in the area of computational chemistry including development of new quantum chemical methods and applications to problems in materials science and chemistry
  • Specific research areas include nanocatalysis, nanocrystalline materials, computational thermochemistry, electron transfer processes; and nanoporous materials

Sanket Deshmukh, Postdoc (Supervisor, Subramanian Sankaranarayanan)
Phone: 630.252.2994, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: sanket@anl.gov

Jonathan Foley, Postdoc (Supervisor, Stephen Gray)
Phone: 630.252.2734, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: jjfoley@anl.gov

Alper Kinaci, Postdoc (Supervisor, Maria Chan)
Phone: 630.252.5378, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: akinaci@anl.gov

Jeffrey McMahon, Resident Associate
Phone: 630.252.4451, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: jeffrey-mcmahon@northwestern.edu

Badri Narayanan, Postdoc (Supervisor, Subramanian Sankaranarayanan)
Phone: 630.252.3723, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: bnarayanan@anl.gov

Kenley Pelzer, Aneesur Rahman Named Postdoctoral Fellow (Supervisor, Seth Darling)
Phone: 630.252.4738, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: kpelzer@anl.gov

Michael Sternberg, Senior Scientific Associate
Phone: 630.252.4631, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: sternberg@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., University of Paderborn, Germany
  • Research focus is in the integration of various modeling programs, to enable researchers to combine the strengths of each approach to allow solving more complex problems
  • Responsibility for the high-performance computing systems at the center

Subramanian Sankaranarayanan, Assistant Scientist
Phone: 630.252.4941, Fax: 630.252.4646; E-mail: skrssank@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., University of South Florida
  • Research focus is the development of computational models and simulation techniques to address issues in the use of nanoscale oxides as energy materials.

Fatih Sen, Postdoc (Supervisor, Maria Chan)
Phone: 630.252.7789, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: fsen@anl.gov

Eva Stringer, Group Secretary
Phone: 630.252.6889, Fax: 630.252.4646, E-mail: stringer@anl.gov

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory