Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

Nanofabrication and Devices

Group Leader: Daniel Lopez

The Nanofabrication and Devices Group is advancing the state of the art in nanofabrication and the fundamental science of nanoscale systems. Their research program involves a multidisciplinary approach combining theory, simulation, and experiments to understand the fundamental processes governing the fabrication and integration of nanoscale materials and devices, and by this means, to work toward the design of functional nanoscale systems and novel phenomena. The group is creating new processes capable of achieving sub-10-nm critical dimensions with large area patterning. Micro- and nano-electromechanical systems are being developed as platforms for manipulation and control of nanostructures and for microenergy harvesting. Carbon-based nanomaterials and nanostructures, including ultrananocrystalline diamond (UNCD), graphene, and nanotubes, are being investigated because of their enhanced electrical, mechanical, and optical performance in nanoscale devices.

Our research is synergistic with the scientific demands of our user community, requiring expertise in nanofabrication and nanodevices and access to state-of-the-art nanofabrication capabilities. A large part of the group's effort is oriented toward development of novel instrumentation that the user community can exploit to advance their own research programs.

The objective of our research is to achieve unprecedented control in the fabrication, integration, and manipulation of nanostructures toward the implementation of functional nanoscale devices.

Research Activities

  • Integration of novel nanomaterials into devices
  • Manipulation of nanoscale interactions
  • Nonlinear phenomena at the nanoscale

More Information



U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory